Bea's Book Nook

BEA'S BOOK NOOK "I can't imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once." C. S. Lewis “If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Thursday, June 29, 2017

Review & Giveaway: Gone to Dust by Liliana Hart

Review, Giveaway, Gone to Dust, Liliana Hart, Bea's Book Nook
Publisher: Pocket Books 
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date: June 20th, 2017
Buying Links: Amazon* | Book Depository* | iTunes* | Barnes & Noble
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from goodreads:

The Gravediggers aren’t exactly what they seem. They’re the most elite of the world’s fighting forces—and all they have in common is that they’ve been betrayed by the countries they’ve died for. Because they are dead. To their country, their military, and their families.

Sometimes the dead do rise....

Miller Darling is one of the most popular romance novelists of her time. Not bad for a woman who doesn’t believe in romance. She’s as logical as they come, and she doesn’t believe in happily-ever-afters. What she does believe in is family, so when her brother disappears, she doesn’t think twice about packing her bag and her laptop and heading out to find him.

Elias Cole lived and breathed the life of a Navy SEAL. Now he’s “dead” and his hero’s honor tarnished. The only thing keeping him sane are the men who are like him—The Gravediggers—and the woman who makes his head spin. He’s never met anyone like Miller Darling. Her smart mouth and quick wit keep him on his toes, and damned if he doesn’t find that appealing.

When Miller receives a package from the brother who abandoned her asking for help, it’s clear she’s in over her head with the mess he’s gotten himself into. She needs a professional, and Elias is just the man for the job. Only her brother is a former SEAL—the man who left his team to die—and Elias is more interested in vengeance than saving his life.

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Excerpt & Giveaway: Claiming Alexis by Susan Stoker


Welcome! Today I have an excerpt and giveaway for you. "Claiming Alexis" is the newest book in Susan Stoker's romantic suspense series, Ace Security.
New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author, Susan Stoker has a heart as big as the state of Texas where she lives, but this all American girl has also spent the last fourteen years living in Missouri, California, Colorado, and Indiana. She's married to a retired Army man who now gets to follow her around the country.

She debuted her first series in 2014 and quickly followed that up with the SEAL of Protection Series, which solidified her love of writing and creating stories readers can get lost in.

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Review & Giveaway: Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis

Review, Giveaway, Lost and Found Sisters, Jill Shalvis, Bea's Book Nook
Series: Wildstone #1
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date:  June 20th 2017
Buying Links: Amazon* | Book Depository* | iTunes | IndieBound | Barnes & Noble | GooglePlay | Kobo
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from goodreads:

From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women's fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.

They say life can change in an instant…

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.'s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she's looking for a missing piece she can't find?

The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn't quite fit in right away, she can't help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there's another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn't a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she's searched so long for.

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Review, Excerpt & Giveaway: Wolf Hunt by Paige Tyler

Series: Special Wolf Alpha Team, #6 
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca 
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date: June 6th, 2017
Buying Links: Amazon* | Book Depository* | iTunes* | Barnes & Noble
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from the publisher:


Remy Boudreaux has kept his distance from women ever since his partner and girlfriend was killed on the job. From his point of view, you can’t be hurt if you never let anyone get close.

Everything changes when Remy reconnects with the beautiful forensic scientist—and his high school crush—Triana Bellamy. Remy is determined keep things casual. But when a mysterious wolf pendant ropes them both into danger, Remy may have to reveal his true self...and hope Triana accepts him just as he is.

Thursday, June 8, 2017

Review & Giveaway: Little Excavator by Anna Dewdney

Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date: June 6th, 2017
Buying Links: Amazon* | Book Depository* | iTunes* | Barnes & Noble
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from publisher:


What could possibly be as appealing as Anna Dewdney's llamas? Anna Dewdney's trucks!


The Big Rigs are working hard at the construction site when Little Excavator rolls up, eager to help. But Little Excavator isn't big enough to CHUG CHUG CHUG! like the Dump Truck as it loads dirt to lug or MOUND MOUND MOUND! like the 'Dozer as it pushes up the ground. Little Excavator wants to smooth out bumps and dig up dirt, but he is just too small. As Big Rigs around him WORK WORK WORK! they finally find a job that no other machine can do...except for Little Excavator!

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Excerpt: Inked Expressions by Carrie Ann Ryan

Excerpt, Inked Expressions, Carrie Ann Ryan, Romance, Bea's Book Nook

The Montgomery Ink Series from NYT Bestselling Author Carrie Ann Ryan continues with the brother who keeps his secret and the one woman he shouldn’t want.

Everly Law married the love of her life and on the eve of giving birth to their twins, lost him in a tragic accident. Now she’s a single mother working overtime at her bookstore trying to make sure her boys have the life they deserve. Her life is busy enough without her adding dating a Montgomery. As past secrets come to light, she’ll need Storm more than ever—even if she doesn’t realize it.

Storm Montgomery has spent his life atoning for sins that only few know he’s committed. When he lost his best friend, he promised his widow that he’d always be there for her—even when she wanted nothing to do with him. But when a single touch ignites passions they’ve both buried deep inside, he’ll have to remember exactly who is in his arms and that taking chances might be far more dangerous than they bargained for.

Add INKED EXPRESSIONS to your Goodreads list here!

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Excerpt & Giveaway: Run to Ground by Katie Ruggle


I'm delighted to be part of the tour for Katie Ruggle's new book, "Run to Ground", which releases today. Join me for an excerpt and a giveaway, and come back next week for my review.

When she’s not writing, Katie Ruggle rides horses, shoots guns, and travels to warm places where she can SCUBA dive. Graduating from the Police Academy, Katie received her ice-rescue certification and can attest that the reservoirs in the Colorado Mountains really are that cold. While she still misses her off-the-grid, solar- and wind-powered house in the Rocky Mountains, she now lives in Rochester, Minnesota near her family.

Monday, June 5, 2017

Bea Reviews Raisins and Almonds by Kerry Greenwood

Bea's Book Nook, Review, Raisins and Almonds, Kerry Greenwood
Series: Phryne Fisher #9
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date: June 6th, 2017
Buying Links: Amazon* | Book Depository* | iTunes* | Barnes & Noble
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from goodreads:

Phryne Fisher loves dancing, especially with gorgeous young Simon Abrahams. But Phryne's contentment at the Jewish Young People's Society Dance is cut short when Simon's father asks her to investigate the strange death of a devout young student in Miss Sylvia Lee s East Market bookshop. Miss Lee has been arrested for the murder, and Phryne believes that she is a very unlikely killer. Investigation leads her into the exotic world of Yiddish, refugees, rabbis, kosher dinners, Kadimah, strange alchemical symbols, and chicken soup. With help from the old faithfuls Bert and Cec, her taxi driver friends; her devoted companion Dot; and Detective Inspector Call me Jack Robinson, Phryne picks her way through the mystery. She soon finds herself at the heart of a situation far graver and more political than she at first appreciates. And all for the price of a song .